bca.bw   |   Contact Us   |   News & Events   |   Admissions   |   Research   |   BOJAAS   |   Library   |   BCA Consult   |   Search 

Botswana College of Agriculture
Private Bag 0027
Gaborone, Botswana
Phone: +267 - 3650100
Fax: +267 - 3928753
www . bca . bw
University of Botswana
Botswana Government

General Information





The Department of Agricultural Education & Economics is made up of three units, Agric. Economics, Agric. Education and Agric. Extension.

  • Market participation by smallholder farmers

More often than not studies have found that smallholder farmers fail to fully participate in agricultural commodity markets. In instances where they participate, their level of participation is quite low relative to their commercial counterparts. In the developing world and Africa in particular, neoclassical economics has failed to explain this observed behaviour. Instead a new paradigm by the name of New Institutional Economics has been developed to fill this gap. In particular smallholder farmers’ minimal participation or lack of participation has been explained in terms of the transaction costs they face. In order to increase smallholder farmers’ participation in the markets we therefore need to identify these transaction costs factors and try to eliminate or minimize them.

  • Demand Analysis of Food Products in Botswana

Agricultural producers must produce products that are highly demanded by consumers if they are to obtain high prices. Demand patterns for food products change due to several factors such as the demographic characteristics, per capita income, and technological developments. It is therefore important for food producers and suppliers to take track of these changes so that they supply the right products to the ultimate consumer. Knowledge of the demand patterns and elasticities will also provide useful information to policy makers.

0 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |
Copyright © 2019, Botswana College of Agriculture(BCA),All rights reserved
An Associate Institution of the University of Botswana established through Act of Parliament No. 9 of 1991